This is the first part of a film showing some of the events at the six-day Services Searchlight Tattoo on Knavesmire in September 1971, as part of the York Pageant. There are also some views of York Cathedral and a fire. The film begins looking at the outside of the South Transept of York Minster, the West End, the Rose window and the West Tower. From on top of the tower there is a view down onto the road below. There is a fire in an old ruin (possibly near the East transept). The film switches to the York Pageant with the six-day Services Searchlight Tattoo on Knavesmire in September. With a fabricated castle background, there is a heraldic display with jousting and sword fights. One person gets dragged along by a horse. There is more jousting as the film comes to an end.
This film is part of the Nowell collection and follows the construction of a new church in Woodlands, South Yorkshire, starting at the fundraising stage, through the construction phase and finishes with the opening ceremony in 1952.
This is one of three films made of the building and opening of the new Lewis's Store in Leeds between 1930 and 1932. The building was opened to the public on the 17th September, 1932 by the Lord Mayor of Leeds, Alderman F.B. Simpson. The opening ceremony took place in the restaurant, where the chairman of the company, Harold L Cohen, presented a cheque for £500 for Leeds Charities to the Lord Mayor. Over 100,000 people visited the store on that first day. About half way through the film, after the opening speeches, it has been filmed at a slower speed, and so appears speeded up.
This is a film made to commemorate the celebratory events for the 100th anniversary of St. Saviour's Church, Fairweather Green, Bradford.
This is one of a collection of films of the family of Queensbury doctor Dr Allan Glenn at home (Innisfree) in Queensbury and Little Horton, and on holiday, in the 1940s. This film includes visits to Scarborough and Filey.
This is one of a collection of films made by Queensbury doctor Dr Allan Glenn of his family at home (Innisfree) in Queensbury and Little Horton, and on holiday in the 1940s. This film includes a family wedding and a trip to Northern Ireland.
This is one of a collection of films of the family of Queensbury doctor Dr Allan Glenn at home (Innisfree) in Queensbury and Little Horton, and on holiday, in the 1940s. This is a film of the family partying at Christmas and visiting Bath.
Made Dennis Leather, a member of Vixen Films, this film shows some of the Deepcar Gala which includes events such as with children’s fancy dress and adults playing crazy games. It also features a children’s Christmas party and the Florence Buildings in Deepcar.
This is film of the Meltham Brickworks Christmas party, of family and friends at Christmas, and of the building of an extension to a house and a fallout shelter in the garden during the Cuban missile crisis of 1962.
This is film of repairs being made to Holmbridge Church, Hall Sunday School Whitsuntide Parade, a bonfire and fireworks at Colin Tinker’s house, work at Meltham Silica Firebrick Company, and of the Tinker family, including a daytrip to Blackpool.
This is a film of the arrival to York Minster of a new bell, ‘Great Peter’, in 1927. The bell was cast at Taylor's Bellfoundry in Loughborough on 22nd April, 1927. It arrived in York on Tuesday, 20th September at 2.45 p.m. and was welcomed with a special service outside the cathedral at 4 p.m. The formal dedication service was held on Saturday, 22nd October, 1927.
This film is one of several from the Parkin family collection. It documents various family activities and events, including a wedding and a trip to London.
This film is one of several from the Parkin collection. It depicts family activities in the countryside on their visit to Castleford, a trip to the seaside and a birthday party.
Made exclusively for the Central Picture House in Elland, this film features some events and local faces of Elland, a small market town in West Yorkshire. The film documents First World War Peace Celebrations which took place in July, 1919.
Made by Henry Foster in 1935, this film documents an important and often unseen part of York’s history and areas which no longer exist in present day York. This film includes Jubilee street parties in Hungate, the slum area of York, and walking races from York to Bishopthorpe.
This film was made by Halifax Cine Club to commemorate the town by providing an overview of its history, industry, landmarks, local services and sporting and cultural life. Among that which is highlighted are Crossley carpets, the Mackintosh factory, Shibden Park, schools, the library, and recent immigrants. The film originally premiered on 31st May, 1972 at the Halifax Civic Theatre. It was later shown to audiences at the former Alexandra Hall.
This is the second part of a four part film highlighting major tourist sites in Northern Ireland (the first and last parts are missing). The film follows two couples as they visit, among other places, the Belfast Ropeworks Company, Bellevue, Hazlewood, Belfast Lough, Whitehead and Carrickfergus.
This is a collection of four films made by a Beverley filmmaker, possibly Peter Robinson. The first is of a steam fair, the second of a trip to York, the third showing the inside of Beverley Minster and the fourth showing a Remembrance Day commemoration.
Made by Henry Foster in 1937, this film documents an important and often unseen part of York’s history and areas which no longer exist in present day York. This film includes extensive footage Coronation street parties in Hungate, the former slum area of York. This film shows a procession to York Minster with a visit by a Royal, Princess Mary.
Made by local butcher Henry Foster, this is a two part film of York in the 1930s. The first part shows the Opening of West Bank Park in Holgate, on July 23rd, 1938. The park, originally the grounds of West Bank House, was established in 1936–38 and included a statue of Queen Victoria that was originally in the Guildhall. The second part of the film shows the fire brigade attending the fire that wrecked the Rialto Cinema on Fishergate in April, 1935. The cinema was owned by composer John Barry’s father, John Prendergast.
This holiday film by Eric Hall travels through sunny Portugal, visiting beaches, religious monuments, markets and small towns, observing Portuguese daily life as it goes.
This is one of a collection of films made by the Selby Cine Club. This film provides a wonderful overview of the town of Selby as it was in 1965 and is accompanied by an interesting historical commentary. It shows pedestrians and traffic in the town centre, many of the shops, and includes the Toll Bridge, the Monday market, the Reverend John Kent giving a tour of the Abbey, the shipyard, the BOCM Mill, and a Council meeting.
This film was taking at the opening of the new housing development built at Parkside Close, West Bank, York. The houses were built by Bradley & Co, York, and celebrations include an appearance by television broadcaster Bill Grundy. The film also includes some family footage of one of those involved in the project.
This film is concerned with York Minster’s restoration efforts after the 1984 fire destroyed a significant section of roof, stonework, and stained glass. The majority of the programme showcases the painstaking restoration work taking place inside the structure. This film was made as part of the 1980s Yorkshire Television series ‘Calendar Magazine’.
A promotional film made by Dorman, Long & Co. Ltd showing the various stages in the construction of the Tyne Bridge from 1926 until its opening on October 10th 1928 by King George V and Queen Mary. The film uses animated graphics to show some of the technical aspects of the bridge's construction and is filmed at various locations around the bridge in both Newcastle and Gateshead.