Made by Ernest Symmons of Debenham & Co, local filmmakers from Beverley, this is a film of a religious ceremony that takes place in York.
Made by members of the Halifax Cine Club, this film documents the opening of the Serbian Orthodox Church of the Holy Trinity in 1954. It includes footage of King Peter II of Yugoslavia as well as both interior and exterior footage of the church.
This is a film which documents the ceremony during the laying of the foundation stone for the St. Andrew's Methodist Church in Halifax Saturday January 4th 1964 at Stafford Square, Huddersfield Road. Four Methodist churches, St. John's, Salterhebble, Skircoat Green and Stafford Square came together to build one Church and Youth Centre on the Huddersfield Road, Halifax. The project was called 'ALL FOUR ONE'.
All denominations were present and included, Canon A.G.Hardie, Vicar of Halifax, Rev. Ian W. Lewis O.B.E. (Minister of the new church) Rev. Scadeng Cheshire (Circuit Superintendant) Rev. Cyril Wainwright, (Chairman of the Methodist West Yorkshire District).
The following is made up of three films including:
Halifax Crematorium Progress (1954-1956)
The Deputy Chief Constable Receives the Police Medal (c. 1957)
Halifax Cine Club Newsreel (1961-1962)
Faith in the City is a collection of seven films make through the Renaissance Partnership Initiative to create a contemporary filmed history representing and celebrating cultural diversity specifically focusing on five different faiths and their communities in Leeds. Made in collaboration with Leeds Museums, Mojo Media, and the Yorkshire Film Archive, Acts of Worship focuses on the way in which people practice their faith during festival time as well as within their daily lives.
This film shows different places and events in the city of York. Many of York's historic landmarks are included as well as scenes of the Mystery Plays, the Regatta, and unique footage of the open-air market.
This film is part of the Nowell collection and follows the construction of a new church in Woodlands, South Yorkshire, starting at the fundraising stage, through the construction phase and finishes with the opening ceremony in 1952.
This is a film made to commemorate the celebratory events for the 100th anniversary of St. Saviour's Church, Fairweather Green, Bradford.
This film is one of several from the Parkin family collection. It documents various family activities and events, including a wedding and a trip to London.
This is one of a collection of films made by the Selby Cine Club. This film provides a wonderful overview of the town of Selby as it was in 1965 and is accompanied by an interesting historical commentary. It shows pedestrians and traffic in the town centre, many of the shops, and includes the Toll Bridge, the Monday market, the Reverend John Kent giving a tour of the Abbey, the shipyard, the BOCM Mill, and a Council meeting.
This film is concerned with York Minster’s restoration efforts after the 1984 fire destroyed a significant section of roof, stonework, and stained glass. The majority of the programme showcases the painstaking restoration work taking place inside the structure. This film was made as part of the 1980s Yorkshire Television series ‘Calendar Magazine’.
Amateur home movie compilation with intertitles made by the Middlesbrough filmmaker Tom H. Brown. Covering the years 1930-1933, the film records a family tour of the Scottish Borders from Berwick-Upon-Tweed to Edinburgh, Melrose and Gretna Green. Includes footage of the salmon fishing industry in Berwick Upon Tweed and of the arrival of HRH Prince of Wales for the official opening of Constantine College, Middlesbrough, on 2 July 1930. The racing personality, Sir Henry Segrave, and his boat the 'Miss England II' feature in scenes from the Lake District. This material was probably filmed shortly before Segrave set the water speed record at Windermere on 13 June 1930.
Amateur film of a stone-laying ceremony that takes place on September 17th 1955 at the Methodist Church on Chester’s Avenue, Longbenton, Newcastle upon Tyne, still under construction. The opening ceremony on March 24th 1956 is also recorded.
An amateur film made by John H. Hall and Neil Bramwell of the construction of St. Wilfrid’s Parish Church in the Newbiggin Hall estate of Newcastle upon Tyne between 1965 and 1967. The film begins with views of a religious service taking place in a hall, possibly Tenant’s Hall, before the church was built. Construction begins on the church with foundations and building frames being installed. The foundation stone is laid in a service led by the Right Reverend Hugh Ashdown, Bishop of Newcastle on 10th December 1966. More work is carried out on the interior of the church and, with work completed, the film records the dedication service-taking place on the 2nd June 1967 also led by Hugh Ashdown. The final part of the film shows a number of religious services taking place in the new church including a communion, funeral and baptism. Following the main film, additional black and white footage show a service taking place in the church with views of the congregation.