Amateur film of a stone-laying ceremony that takes place on September 17th 1955 at the Methodist Church on Chester’s Avenue, Longbenton, Newcastle upon Tyne, still under construction. The opening ceremony on March 24th 1956 is also recorded.
An amateur film made by John H. Hall and Neil Bramwell of the construction of St. Wilfrid’s Parish Church in the Newbiggin Hall estate of Newcastle upon Tyne between 1965 and 1967. The film begins with views of a religious service taking place in a hall, possibly Tenant’s Hall, before the church was built. Construction begins on the church with foundations and building frames being installed. The foundation stone is laid in a service led by the Right Reverend Hugh Ashdown, Bishop of Newcastle on 10th December 1966. More work is carried out on the interior of the church and, with work completed, the film records the dedication service-taking place on the 2nd June 1967 also led by Hugh Ashdown. The final part of the film shows a number of religious services taking place in the new church including a communion, funeral and baptism. Following the main film, additional black and white footage show a service taking place in the church with views of the congregation.