This is an informative film about the new Cecil Theatre which was opened on 28th November, 1955. The theatre was built to take the place of the old Cecil which was destroyed by enemy action during the Second World War in May, 1941. The film is told from the perspective on an audience member. It also includes footage of the projectionist at the Cecil theatre showing how films are loaded onto the projectors as well as the “change over” during the interval. May 1941.
This is a mixture of film taken around a time when changes were taking place at the Playhouse cinema in Beverley. It includes photos of old Beverley, and of past cinema programmes and publicity, followed by a film being put on and cinema equipment being taken away and its use as a bingo hall. It also shows the old swimming pool on Ladygate.