1920's Boy was made in the late 1970s by an amateur filmmaker, Mr Ron Broadbent of Keighley, who was a member of the local cine-club. A historically significant film based on illustrator and artist Mr Stanley R. Boardman's 1973 book '1920's Boy: Reminiscences of a Yorkshire Childhood', it used a combination of Mr Boardman's storytelling in a strong regional accent, his paintings, and live footage of the present day filmed by Mr Broadbent to give the viewer an often comical glimpse of children growing up in the area in the 1920s. The film was a great success as it won The Institute of Amateur Cinematographers Daily Mail Challenge Trophy for the Best Amateur Movie of the Year in 1978, though there was some controversy at the time as the film needed 'translation' for people to understand the broad Yorkshire accent.
This is one of a collection of films made by the Selby Cine Club. This film provides a wonderful overview of the town of Selby as it was in 1965 and is accompanied by an interesting historical commentary. It shows pedestrians and traffic in the town centre, many of the shops, and includes the Toll Bridge, the Monday market, the Reverend John Kent giving a tour of the Abbey, the shipyard, the BOCM Mill, and a Council meeting.
This is a documentary made by Yorkshire Television, part of the Northern Line series, about the Camphill community in the village of Botton, in the North York Moors. The village is unique in its catering for people with learning difficulties. The programme presents the history and philosophy of the community, based on the principles of Rudolf Steiner, and shows the work and activities of those with learning difficulties and the co-workers, with interviews from both groups.
This amateur home movie footage features Baron Watson-Armstrong and Lady Armstrong at Cragside House, near Rothbury, Northumberland, as they entertain friends and survey their estate's grounds. The film also contains footage of the Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle upon Tyne, which was built with funds bequeathed by William George Armstrong in 1901.