This is one of a collection of films made by the Selby Cine Club. This film provides a wonderful overview of the town of Selby as it was in 1965 and is accompanied by an interesting historical commentary. It shows pedestrians and traffic in the town centre, many of the shops, and includes the Toll Bridge, the Monday market, the Reverend John Kent giving a tour of the Abbey, the shipyard, the BOCM Mill, and a Council meeting.
Amateur home movie compilation that records family visits in North Yorkshire and the Pennines, produced between 1952 and 1953. The film includes scenes of a stonemason at work on the Frank Elgee memorial stone and the dedication ceremony at Rosedale Head on the North York Moors in 1953. Frank Elgee was an archaeologist, geologist and naturalist, and former curator of the Dorman Museum, Middlesbrough. There is also footage of travel in Belgium and Germany with scenes filmed at Brussels, Lake Constance, and Rothenburg in Bavaria.
This amateur travelogue focuses on rural and picturesque (non-industrial) locations along the River Wear, from source in the Upper Weardale hills to the industrial river mouth at the North Sea, and the coastline from Tynemouth to the Roker lighthouse. Footage includes sequences on farming in Upper Weardale, fluorspar mining, quarrying for ganister stone, quilting in the dales, church architecture, Durham Cathedral, Raby and Brancepeth castles, Durham Regatta and the famous Durham Miners' Gala at its most popular. This film was a Newcastle & District Amateur Cinematographers Association (ACA) production, probably led by George Cummin.