Produced by the Film Unit and Television Service at Leeds University, this film documents four archaeological dig sites in York. Work on these sites took place during the summer of 1973 and yielded a number of historic findings.
This film was commissioned by the City of York to document the restoration of Fairfax House after it had been acquired by York Civic Trust. It shows in detail the state of the building prior to restoration, the work of restoration, and how it looked on completion when it was opened to the public.
This film features the artwork of acclaimed sculptor Austin Wright and gives a fascinating insight into the methods and inspiration behind some of his most recognizable pieces. The film highlights the evolution of Wright's style as well as his use of different raw materials to produce sculptures which act as analogies to elements in nature and even anatomy that have inspired him and his work. The film also features rare images of the sculptor at work in his back shed creating and arranging various pieces for display.
This film is a compilation of people, places and events in 1936 and 1942. It covers the choir at York Minster School, repair work taking place at York Minster, Worksop College, erecting electricity pylons in Stillington, and National Prayer day in Stillington in 1942.
This programme takes a look at the National Viking Centre Museum in York as it nears completion. The film shows the Museum being completed on the space of the archaeological dig site in Coppergate, York. It features interviews with many of those involved in the planning and construction of the Museum, explaining how it aims to preserve the remains of Jorvik, the Viking capital over 1000 years ago.
This film documents the opening of Clifton Bridge in 1963. A temporary bridge at Clifton was built by the British Army in 1961, on the site of an old ferry crossing, in order to handle additional vehicle traffic caused by the wedding of the Duke and Duchess of Kent at York Minster. A permanent bridge was opened officially on 28 October 1963. The bridge is built from 4,000 tons of concrete and 50 tons of reinforced steel.
This film shows people working on the creation of a screening room for the Harrogate Amateur Cine Society.