This film was made as a promotional film for Leeds University and highlights the wide range of subject areas potential students can choose to study, the facilities the university provides, and aspects of student's social life including student halls and the University Union. The film also includes interviews with many of the University's current students.
This is an informative film about the new Cecil Theatre which was opened on 28th November, 1955. The theatre was built to take the place of the old Cecil which was destroyed by enemy action during the Second World War in May, 1941. The film is told from the perspective on an audience member. It also includes footage of the projectionist at the Cecil theatre showing how films are loaded onto the projectors as well as the “change over” during the interval. May 1941.
This film documents the construction taking place in order to rebuild the BP Chemicals Sports and Social Club at its Hull site. Construction took place over a period of time from 1978-1979. Included in the film are images of the building at various stages of completeness as well as the footage from the opening ceremony and banquet.
This is one of three films made of the building and opening of the new Lewis's Store in Leeds between 1930 and 1932. The building was opened to the public on the 17th September, 1932 by the Lord Mayor of Leeds, Alderman F.B. Simpson. The opening ceremony took place in the restaurant, where the chairman of the company, Harold L Cohen, presented a cheque for £500 for Leeds Charities to the Lord Mayor. Over 100,000 people visited the store on that first day. About half way through the film, after the opening speeches, it has been filmed at a slower speed, and so appears speeded up.
This is one of a collection of films made by the Selby Cine Club. This film provides a wonderful overview of the town of Selby as it was in 1965 and is accompanied by an interesting historical commentary. It shows pedestrians and traffic in the town centre, many of the shops, and includes the Toll Bridge, the Monday market, the Reverend John Kent giving a tour of the Abbey, the shipyard, the BOCM Mill, and a Council meeting.